There are two papers in Prelims exams

  • Paper I: Qualifying Paper I lets you appear for Mains exams.
  • Paper II: Paper II is only to analyze you.

The Civil services Exam Prelims examination is objective in nature and it consists of two papers.

Name of the Paper No of Questions Marks Allotted Time Allotted Nature of Exam
Paper I: General Studies (Objective-type) 100 200 2 hours The score will be considered for Cut-off
Paper-II: General Studies-II (CSAT) (Objective-Type) 80 200 2 hours Qualifying Nature – Candidates will have to score 33% to qualify CSAT


Knowing thoroughly about the syllabus of UPSC prelims is the first step towards the preparation of the UPSC Civil Services Exam. Thus, it’s very crucial to be aware of the syllabus at every step of the whole process. To crack one of the toughest exams like this, you need to get ready for the race right away. Concrete idea about the prelims syllabus would lay the foundation of your dream of becoming a Class one officer one day. After all, they say “Well begin is half done”.

Complete syllabus of the Prelims Exam

  • Current events of national and international importance
  • History of India and Indian national movement
  • Indian and World Geography- physical, social, economic geography of India and the world
  • Indian Polity and governance – constitution, political system, panchayati raj, public policy, Rights issues, etc.
  • Economic and social development – sustainable development, poverty, inclusion, demographics, social sector initiatives etc.
  • General issues on environmental ecology, bio-diversity and climate change-that do not require subject specialization
  • General science.
  • Comprehension
  • Interpersonal skills including communication skills
  • Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  • Decision making and problem solving
  • General mental ability
  • Data Interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. – Class X level)
  • English Language Comprehension skills (Class X level).
  • Questions relating to English Language Comprehension skills of Class X level. (will be tested through passages from English language only without providing Hindi translation) There are 80 questions carrying 200 marks. Each question carries 2.5 marks. There is a penalty of 33% marks or 0.83 marks for every wrong answer. Though decision making and problem solving section doesn’t have negative marking.

Enquiry form

Enquire Now